Diffusing and using Gels with a 600EX?

I'm completely new to using a 600EX with a 5DM3 for both indoor and outdoor photography.

1. If ceilings/walls are too far away to bounce off and the flash is mounted to the top of the camera, is it better to use a diffusion cap, like https://www.amazon.com/Sto-Fen-Omni-Bounce-Diffuser-580EXII-Yongnuo/dp/B0007DDK7A
OR a mini soft box like this https://www.amazon.com/Fotodiox-Speedlight-Speedlite-600EX-RT-Panasonic/dp/B003Y30334/ref=pd_sim_421_2?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B003Y30334&pd_rd_r=ZT02KNCNT340GYNERFSN&pd_rd_w=c8TDv&pd_rd_wg=l9aAD&psc=1&refRID=ZT02KNCNT340GYNERFSN
OR something different entirely?

2. I want to buy something to blend the light from the flash with warm light from outdoors I think CTO gel (1/4th CTO strength). What is the best way to do this? Just buy a gel and wrap it around the dome of the flash OR are there dome caps with the gel built in that I should get?

Thanks in advance.

LDS

Sep 14, 2012
Diffusers like the OmniBounce still need nearby surfaces to reflect the light, they just increase the amount of light sent around the flash (that's why the 'bounce' in the name). Without them, they just decrease flash power.

A softbox will soften the light, but the effect is different from bouncing (which also spread the light around the subject, because of the usually large diffusing surfaces - ceiling and walls). It is still more directional, and a lot depends on the size, distance and position of the softbox relative to the subject.

Upvote 0
Jan 29, 2011
This could be discussed for days but get these two, and some gaffer tape.

https://www.amazon.com/Rogue-FlashBenders-ROGUERESM-Positionable-Reflector/dp/B003UOIMBW

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/45189-REG/Rosco_950SBLUX0103_Roscolux_Swatchbook.html

Take the swatch book apart (it has a plastic screw) and use a little tape to tape it to your flash. If you use gaffer tape it will pull off without any residue left on the flash and can often be reused.