DNG vs. original RAW in the long term

dppaskewitz said:
How do you plan to archive the photos, whichever format you select? Just curious.

Well, I am just in the researching stage... Which file format, what sort of media, cloud storage vs. local hard disk, using a database (for metadata and thumbs) or just the file system etc. I am not a pro, and not even a real enthusiast, still I have acquired several thousand images over the years. They are currently distributed over too many places (read: disks), and I never find this one image that I am just looking for at this very moment. ;) Therefore I am preparing for a more or less big task of consolidation and data cleansing...

Most of the points I mentioned are undecided, yet. What I know already is this:

IF I go the dabase way, I'll use Digikam for that.
In any case, for the actual RAW files stored in the file system I'll use exiftool to sort and rename all files by data and time, plus a sequence number. This is a simple scheme, but I think that's an advantage, and after trying it out for a couple of hundreds of files it really seems to do what I expect it to do.
And now: File format. I'll continue to listen to the very useful advice I get here (thanks again to all!), but so far it's a clear cut: CR2, not DNG; not alone, at least.

dppaskewitz said:
Interesting: the automatic ad (or whatever it is) that pops up on this thread between the posts, at least for me, is for a file converter. Is everyone else getting that? I presume that whatever software Canon Rumors uses to place those ads reads the content of the thread and selects an ad that is pertinent (I also get a lot of "Canon vs. Nikon" ads).

Big Red is watching us? Reading DR related threads one would hope that they would also listen to us... ;)

Upvote 0
frumrk said: