Flash modifier: Sto-Fen vs. MagBounce vs. MagSphere

ahsanford

Particular Member
Aug 16, 2012
Hey gang,

I rarely use a flash, but I have a 600 EX-RT for use when I'm in a pinch.

I've just been asked by some family to informally shoot some engagement shots (not a paying gig, I am no pro), so I wanted to have a fresh look at my light modifier. I just have the vanilla old Sto-Fen diffuser, and it does gobble up a ton of power -- I'm often manually compensating significantly to get what I need on backlit subjects.

Has anyone used the new MagSphere or MagBounce? Whaddya think? Is one a better call for on-camera flash use? I'm not sure I need both given how infrequently I'm pulling out the speedlite, so if you had to choose one, which would you recommend?

Thx,
A

All the bits of plastic put in front of a flash are all pretty much the same. It is a matter of physics.

Quite a few flash photography books have comparison photographs with the different modifiers and it is really hard to tell the difference. If you already have a Sto-Fen I would stay with that. You are not going to be able to buy a "better" piece of plastic to put in front of your strobe.

The good news is that softboxes are getting less expensive, easier to carry, easier to set up, in more handy sizes and will give you a much better spread

Good luck with it.

I am sure that I am not the only photographer who has wasted money in the dream of a modifier that is "different".

Upvote 0

jd7

CR Pro
Feb 3, 2013
I'm afraid I don't have any experience with either of the magsphere or magbounce, but if you're shooting somewhere you can bounce the flash I think you are probably going to be better off just doing that (without the stofen or anything else). Otherwise, maybe something like a rogue flashbender might interest you? I see they have a version 2 these days although not sure how it differs from the old version.

Upvote 0

dcm

Enjoy the gear you have!
CR Pro
Apr 18, 2013
Colorado, USA