Flashpoint (Godox) R2 and Canon Speedlights

JPAZ

If only I knew what I was doing.....
CR Pro
Sep 8, 2012
Southwest USA
Hi all. I have been using Phottix Stratos II as an off camera flash trigger / receiver with success but this unit cannot control the off-camera flash from the camera menu nor can it do HSS unless the flash is mounted on the camera. At a friend's suggestion, I got the Flashpoint R2 and am pleased. Certainly, for the price, it is a nice setup. The off camera flash can be controlled from the camera menu and I can now do HSS.

My question is whether there is any way to trigger the Speedlight RT from the R2 trigger without mounting the flash on an R2 receiver? Does Canon use a proprietary frequency or code that can only be sent from a Canon trigger or flash? I am trying to see if there is any way to not need another receiver but use the R2 trigger to fire the flash directly. Hope this makes sense. I am pretty new to the whole use of flash off camera and to using more than one flash so sorry if I am not clear.

Thanks.

LDS

Sep 14, 2012
JPAZ said:
Does Canon use a proprietary frequency or code that can only be sent from a Canon trigger or flash?

Canon does use its proprietary protocol, although many reversed engineering it successfully. Just or you use a transmitter that can "speak" Canon RT protocol directly, or or you need a receiver to drive the Canon flash if the transmitter uses its own protocol.

Phottix made transmitters/receivers (Laso) and Indra models compatible with the Canon RT protocol - so you can drive your Canon RT flash directly without any receiver. IIRC it does support HSS as well.

Of course if you have only Canon RT flashes there's always the Canon ST-3 transmitter, or, its cheap Yongnuo clone (Yongnuo makes also RT receivers).

Upvote 0

Ozarker

Love, joy, and peace to all of good will.
CR Pro
Jan 28, 2015
The Ozarks