For birds: 500 f/4L II or ?

I'm an amateur bird photographer, and since it's my 40th birthday this year my wife has agreed that I should splurge on a new lens (or other gear). I have a 70D body that I usually pair with a 400 f/5.6L. In low light, sometimes I use a 70-200 f/4L with a 1.4x extender to take advantage of the image stabilization.

My current frustrations are the lack of IS on the 400mm and the relatively noisy output from 70D at ISO 800 and up. I'm contemplating the 500mm f/4 L IS II, which is my dream lens, but also seems like an insanely expensive and specialized purchase for an amateur.

Instead of dropping $9k on the 500/4 II, I'm thinking of a couple alternatives:

1) 5Dm4 body, and perhaps the 100-400 II.

The 5Dm4 (or 5Dm3) would give me much better low-light performance, plus f/8 autofocus. Trading my 400/5.6 in for the new 100-400 would give me IS, though it's probably a wash on the optics at 400mm. Plus I'd get improved performance with my other lenses, not just at 500mm.

2) 1st gen 500 f/4L IS

These still seem to go for $5k+ and are a lot heavier. IS isn't nearly as good. Optics should still be very good, though.

3) Upgraded camera body plus Sigma 150-600 zoom

I've seen a lot of people raving about these lenses, and the extra reach + IS would get a lot of shots I currently miss.

On the other hand, I don't think there's anything like the sharpness and creamy background from a big white lens. If I buy the 500/4 II, I won't be upgrading my 70D this year, but the extra ~5 stops total would open up a lot more options.

Any thoughts (or alternate suggestions) for people who've used these combinations?

unfocused

Photos/Photo Book Reviews: www.thecuriouseye.com
Jul 20, 2010
Springfield, IL
www.thecuriouseye.com
I'm also dreaming of the 500 f4, but to be more prudent, here are some things to consider:

The Sigma Contemporary is very good for the price.

The 100-400 II is excellent.