How do you know when it's time for a new monitor?

drmikeinpdx

Celebrating 20 years of model photography!
I have been using a cheap ASUS LED monitor for a few years. It still seems to work fine and it mounts nicely on the adjustable arm that I love.

For the last three years, I've been using a color calibration device - currently an X-Rite color checker that seems to work well.

I know there are better and much more expensive monitors out there. Compared to what I spend on bodies and lenses, a new monitor would not be an unreasonable expense.

For someone who uses a 5D3 and L lenses, are there any real gains to be had by buying a better monitor? I don't do commercial fashion or advertising work - mostly portraits and boudoir. Most of my photos end up being viewed on screens of dubious color and brightness adjustment, so I'm not sure if this is worth worrying about.

Anyone recently upgrade to a high-end monitor and find that it took their photography to the next level?

Feb 15, 2015
For web publishing, your display should be perfectly usable.

If you are using your own inkjet for printing, do you get exactly the result you want each time? Or are print and display (with proper proofing set-up) hit and miss? If it always is hit and miss, you may have to adjust your workflow and learn more about profiling/proofing etc. If there are certain colors that tend to be off, it may be that the display does not deliver even with profiling/soft-proofing. In the latter case, this may be an indication to get a new one.

Do you do high volume (off-set) printing? In this case, there is no room for error, and a good display (properly calibrated and all the proofing and print output done correctly) is an insignificant cost compared to re-printing a book. Rather safe than $$$$orry.