How many ppi is good enough for a 15in screen?

I've been using imac for about 4-5 years. Absolutely love the OS. It never crashed. However, when considering upgrading to a faster computer I've reached the conclusion that I'd be better off with a PC with good specs. I don't like bringing extra adapters and SD card reader.

I think Macbook Pro has a gorgeous screen at 220ppi. I'm planning to get Dell xps 15 at 140ppi. There's a 4k version with touch screen but I don't think I need 4k on a small 15in screen and touch screen is not a priority to me. Is 140ppi good enough for photo editing? There's a $400 difference between the 4k vs non touch version. I figure if I want 4k I might as well get a large external monitor. What do you all think? Or should I just pay extra grand and get Macbook Pro?

Mar 25, 2011
The color gamut and accuracy are more important than ppi. A IPS screen is going to be important as well.

The Dell page provides no specifications for the screen, no mention of IPS or Adobe color Gamut.

So, check out this link.

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Notebookcheck-s-Top-10-Multimedia-Notebooks.98608.0.html

You are paying dearly for the $200 SSD. I think the high end version way overpriced. Can you get it for less?

The base model is $823.17 thru my employer. I'd buy my own 1 or 2 TB SSD, and max out the memory after I got it, depending on the type of SSD. I'm not sure what type of SSD it uses. Dell adds about twice the value of the ssd and memory in their high end versions.

After reading thru the notebook test web site, it does seem that the i5 version with 4K screen is the way to go. Multiple display issues with the lower resolution screen go away. I get a $300 discount off that price, but sales tax puts a lot of it back.

Upvote 0
Dec 8, 2012