Is it noise?

Hello friends,

I'm still new to post processing and need some help with an image I shot recently. I took a 40min exposure at 10mm, f5.6, ISO200 on my (throughly weathered) T3i. When I got the image into PS CC this I what I saw. These green and red dots covering the entire image.

Also as you can see from the screen grab (for test purposes) I tried seeing what the noise reduction tools in camera raw would do but they did not seem to get rid of the dots.

My question, is it something on my sensor or is it noise? How would I go about fixing this in PS?

If it is something on my sensor it would not surprise me as my camera has been well used and never serviced.

Thanks in advance,

Corey

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-05-12 at 12.46.58 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-05-12 at 12.46.58 PM.png
    3.7 MB · Views: 362

jrista

EOL
Dec 3, 2011
jonrista.com
SeeFGrant said:
Hello friends,

I'm still new to post processing and need some help with an image I shot recently. I took a 40min exposure at 10mm, f5.6, ISO200 on my (throughly weathered) T3i. When I got the image into PS CC this I what I saw. These green and red dots covering the entire image.

Also as you can see from the screen grab (for test purposes) I tried seeing what the noise reduction tools in camera raw would do but they did not seem to get rid of the dots.

My question, is it something on my sensor or is it noise? How would I go about fixing this in PS?

If it is something on my sensor it would not surprise me as my camera has been well used and never serviced.

Thanks in advance,

Corey

Try reading through this thread:

http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=26264.0