Light metering with multiple flashes

Dholai

CR Pro
Feb 5, 2014
Hi all,

This is my first post even though I have been coming to this forum religiously everyday for a few years now.

I have a question please.

How do you set up to do light metering with an external light meter(e.g. Sekonic 758) when you use multiple flashes?

In studio, I use a sync cord connected to the meter and one of the strobes, which then fires other strobes optically and I get my reading.

Can the same be done with flashes?

How can you use the ST-E3 RT to do this ? Can I connect a cable to it and the light meter and fire multiple 600 Rts to get a reading.

The ST E3 manual does not mention anything. Search with Google did not turn up anything either!

Please help.

Thanks a lot

Dholai

Dholai said:
Hi all,

How do you set up to do light metering with an external light meter(e.g. Sekonic 758) when you use multiple flashes?

Dholai

Two angles on this:

1. If you want to set the power on your lights manually and fire them to check the output with your meter, the ST-E3-RT will do that just fine as long as it is off the camera.

2. Another possible approach is Ext-A; it seems to work pretty well, I had two pairs on opposite sides of a dimly lit dirt arena set to figure it out for themselves and got the photo below. It's a suggestion, I'm all for learning more from others here too.

Jim

Attachments

• ext-a.jpg
    ext-a.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 600
Upvote 0
Jan 29, 2011
If you are using a 1 series camera it actually has a flash meter built in, just use the FEC button to take a flash reading and adjust exposure, in either M or Av modes or to the flash power level, as per the bars in the viewfinder.

However I don't know anybody that ever uses this feature, they just guess and chimp.