Menage a trois

Besisika said:
To me, it is a macro as soon as it goes closer than the MFD of your lens especially with a magnification greater than 1.
Anyway, nice work. I cannot complain about your stacking technique. I am still learning. I don't dare 375 yet.

I believe macro is defined as when the image is captured at 1:1 or more. And to get closer than the MFD can only be done with extention tubes?

Upvote 0
Gear used>tripod mounted, rather dated 1Ds3 with a 180 macro attached at close to MFD>tethered to monitor using Canon Utility Software for live view shooting.

Lighting was four 100 watt LED lights bouncing light off the walls and ceiling, two of these http://www.amazon.com/Mighty-Bright-40511-Xtraflex2-Book/dp/1933622717/ref=pd_sim_b_3?ie=UTF8&refRID=0M6PBQ20QW21KM36ZFJS attached to camera mount, with black cloth as backdrop.
Is oblivious that I can't do anything expensive or fancy.

The tethered LV shoot was computer controlled using the arrows to move focus point in/out, one after another until the entire focus gamut is achieved. In this case it required 4-5 camera movements to capture an entire flower with each movement requiring 50-80 stacks at f/8. All stacking and merging done in PS CC. ;)

Upvote 0

BLFPhoto

Canon EOS user since '91...
chauncey said:
Is oblivious that I can't do anything expensive or fancy.

Fancy isn't the point. The light is flat and directionless here. All you need to do is to create directionality to the light. This image is a really good documentary representation of the plants, but we don't really get their character.

Bring the lights in from off axis, and from a single side. Use 2-3 on one side. Use one of the four for "fill" from the opposite side. If you used 2 on one side, one for fill, then you could even use one for a back light to gain separation from the black background.