Modifiers and stand/boom for 600EX-RT

Dec 12, 2012
So I'm just getting into off-shoe lighting and product photography. All I currently have is a 600EX-RT, and I'd like to explore its capabilities before going into another solution like an AlienBee. I've heard a PLM umbrella with stofen-type diffuser can turn a speedlight into something resembling a softbox for less money than a softbox, but 64 inches seems like quite a bit for a speedlight to fill. $70 shipped for the PLM seems like a good deal if it actually works as I hope.

Another way is to get something like the SMDV 26 inch softbox, which is intended for speedlights and is probably easier to work with for close-up work. I imagine it would create cleaner reflections when used close to shiny objects because the speedlight and stand wouldn't be between the modifier and the subject. It's much more expensive at $170 though.

Also, what about supports? Paul Buff has a basic stand for only $40 that should support a speedlight+modifier, but shipping would add quite a bit to that, and it doesn't include a boom. I could get a cheapo stand+boom kit from Amazon for $40 shipped. It wouldn't stand up to heavy use, but for simple home use (no wind issues, no commercial pressures, and I tend to be careful) hopefully it would work.

Lastly, YN-E3-RT or generic radio triggers like Phottix etc.? I've been triggering the 600 remotely with my 70D's onboard flash, but that's something I'd like to get away from if possible. I'm definitely not spending $300 on the Canon transmitter, but I'd like the cleanliness of having fewer things to connect, power, etc.

Any other recommendations or suggestions? I'd like to spend under $300 total for trigger, modifier, and stand/boom.

Thanks!

Jan 29, 2011