Moving away from Lightroom for import - Breezebrowser vs Photomechanic

Jul 28, 2015
I have been using LR for a few years now and really like it for the keywording and simplified editing tools. But viewing files can be painfully slow when all you want to do is a quick check to see if the photo is worth importing in the first place.
Also, when I am shooting RAW+Jpeg (with the RAW file as a safety net) and set it to treat RAW and JPG files as separate, if I want to delete the file I need to tag the RAW and JPG files separately for deletion which is a pain. And if I set it so the JPG is treated as the same file I see no purpose to RAW+Jpg.

So my question is along the lines of what are the relative strengths of the two alternatives. I am willing to pay for the PhotoMechanic license if the benefits are tangible. And I understand both programs do what I would like regards deleting RAW+jpeg with one action.

I really like the databasing in LR but sometimes I wonder if I am being over-enthusiastic with keywording simply because I can. If my choice of downloader works well I can see myself moving to either the CC subscription and (horror!) tackling the full-fat Photoshop or even switching to using DPP which I have become more impressed with and being more selective in which images I care to process.
But let's tackle the download first...

Sep 25, 2010
Mikehit said:
I have been using LR for a few years now and really like it for the keywording and simplified editing tools. But viewing files can be painfully slow when all you want to do is a quick check to see if the photo is worth importing in the first place.

I have a not-fast computer, so I've changed my settings to create no preview on import. I can import 600 photos in a minute or two. The raw file has a small built-in preview, which may be adequate for what you describe. I can take a first pass through the photos to discard the garbage, then generate full-size previews when I'm ready.

Upvote 0

tonyespofoto