My full street photography kit and why my 5dmk3 is perfect for street shooting.

Status
Not open for further replies.
This post is a supplement to my earlier blog post on the Psychology and technique in street photography. I am an experienced street photographer shooting predominantly in India and South East Asia. I have for the last year or so moved over to a 5dmk3 as my main camera and the more I use it the more I like it.

If you are interested to see what I think of this camera, good and bad, and what other gear I use please take a look.

Thanks.
Mark.

http://www.markcareyphotography.com/2013/my-street-photography-kit/

tomscott said:
I would agree the 5DMKIII is a great camera, but for street I would disagree. Its too big and intrusive regardless how much gafa tape you use to reduce the bling. If it works for you then great but think you would be even less noticeable with a smaller camera.

Its not big and intrusive when you have a small lens on it like a 35 f2. Ok, its marginally bigger than a cropped body dslr but there isnt a huge amount of difference. Its marginally bigger than a Fuji xpro1.

Ive done street photography with a variety of cameras from Xpro1, D3s, D700, point and shoot type cameras - so sizes completely across the board. My view is as long as you have a small lens on it and you kinda tuck it under your arm a lot, a 5d's size is not much of a bother to people.

The plus points I have mentioned more than outweigh the fact that in an ideal world Id like it a bit smaller, but I dont really find it a big deal. Take an Xpro1 - God forbid I need to take several shots, quickly check them and take some more. Its just not responsive enough. You are totally 'in touch' with the 5d3 in a way that lifts it apart from many other smaller bodies. Of course with these other smaller bodies you will also be compromising on image quality as well.

Just my opinion - I respect that you may think differently.

Upvote 0
Aug 19, 2012