Need advice - 7D vs 5D2 vs 5d3

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sfrider

Hi All,
I'm looking to upgrade from my 20D. I decided I wanted to upgrade after realizing that my 20D wasn't great at low light/high ISO shots. I am a recreational photographer, take photos of my kids, friends, family, travel, sporting events etc - mostly for fun, do some printing, usually 4x6 or 5x7, occasionally 16x24 - though would consider larger sizes for home decoration. I want to be able to shoot in low light and indoors without a flash.
I already own the Canon 50 f1.2L and 24-105 f4L - and on the 20D the 50 1.2L is too tight for indoor shots. So I figured I should either get a FF body and use the lenses I already own, or a 7D + 24,28,or 35mm fast lens.

So as I see it my options are:
7D + 35 f2 (approx $2000 total)
7D + 35 1.4 (approx $3000 total)
5D2 ($2150 total)
5D3 ($3500 total)

I could swing any of the options financially - but would only want to spend the extra $$ on the 5D3 if it was really going to make a difference for my needs.

Thanks!
Michael
20D, 50 f1.2L, 24-105 f4L, 430EX II

Jul 21, 2010
In your shoes, I'd go with the 5DIII. You've got a great set of lenses to go with that body already.

I shoot similar things as you, and I have both a 5DII and a 7D - each has their plusses and minuses. The 5DII offers great IQ and the ability to shoot at higher ISO with great control over noise - ISO 3200 on the 5DII is very usable for routine shooting. But...the AF on the 5DII is marginal with moving kids, and not very good for sporting events. The 7D has a great AF system, but gets quite noisy above ISO 800. In many situations, I find that I want both good AF and good ISO performance, but I need to choose between them (if I need good AF, e.g. one of my kids' indoor activities/dance/gymnastics/etc., I usually pick the 7D and live with the noise at ISO 3200). The 5DII is great indoors in the evenings with high ISO, but I have to put up with a lot of missed shots due to the AF.