Optimal sports and action setup?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone, this is my first post at this forum and, sadly, this is a question :)
I'm not a pro photographer (but I'm getting there), I'm just a regular guy with a camera who likes to shoot sports, outdoor activities and I'm also involved in a bit of journalism.
I currently use 550D and 17-70 Sigma OS the most, both of which I like, but I'm looking for an upgrade. Is it generally useful to go FF for action shooting? As I've heard 5dmkII is more of a studio camera and thus not so useful for my purposes.

Would you recommend me to wait for 5dmkIII and get 24-105 in the meantime as I originally planned, or is there a better way?

Jul 21, 2010
How about the 1D X? :p

FF has the advantage of better low-light performance, which is good for indoor sports. But fast-moving subjects require good AF tracking. To get that with a FF sensor from Canon means a 1-series body.

In terms of AF performance, the 5DII won't be too different from your Rebel, and pairing it with an f/4 lens for sports isn't the best idea.

Honestly, in your position, the first thing I'd recommend is a lens upgrade. IIRC, the Sigma 17-70 is f/2.8-4. Constant f/2.8 zooms like the EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, and/or 70-200mm f/2.8L, or an even faster prime (85mm f/1.8, 135mm f/2L) will enable the higher shutter speeds you need to stop action, and give you better IQ, too.

Upvote 0

Crapking

"Whatever you are....be a good one." AL
Nov 9, 2011
jjlabella.photoshelter.com