Post processing, coma removal

DxO Optics Pro does correct for coma (see here), but mostly in terms of color smearing, not point light sources like stars.

Your best bet is to follow Nancy's advice and get a Samyang lens - they are cheap and offer much better coma performance than Canon's fast primes. Lenstip.com tests for coma and according to their tests and the advice of others on this forum, the only Canon lenses that have good coma correction are:

16-35 f/4 IS
24-70 f/2.8 II
70-200 f/2.8 IS II
TS-E 17 f/4
TS-E 24 f/3.5

I own all of these and can vouch for their performance, but they are all somewhat slow compared to the Samyang lenses. I also happen to live in Florida where astrophotography is a 1-2 month possibility, so I'm no expert. Do a search for "coma" on the forum and you should get lots of good results from other members.

Upvote 0
NancyP – thanks for the advice and the recommendation. I have the Tokina 16-28 and will try that next. How do you feel about the Samyang 14mm?

Mackguyver – thanks to you, also. It had not occurred to me to use my 70-200 for night skies. The next time I’m where I can, I will do that. I live just outside of Atlanta, so I too have limited access to quality night sky.

BTW, I did search for ‘coma’ in the forum search feature and got zero results. I think the search feature is a bit iffy.

Upvote 0
chrysoberyl said:
BTW, I did search for ‘coma’ in the forum search feature and got zero results. I think the search feature is a bit iffy.
Make sure you click on the Search button at the top of the forum between Help & Profile, not the Search... box on the right. I got 8 pages of results.

Upvote 0
mackguyver said:
chrysoberyl said:
Make sure you click on the Search button at the top of the forum between Help & Profile, not the Search... box on the right. I got 8 pages of results.

Aha! Thanks again.

Upvote 0