Review - The Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi again! For those interested in reading a review of this excellent lens along with a lot of sample images taken with it, I have just posted a review to my website at: http://www.dustinabbott.net/2013/04/canon-70-300mm-f4-5-6l-is-review-the-ultimate-zoo-lens/

Among the things I address are its use with teleconverters (sample images included). A lot of you are now familiar with my review technique, but in case you aren't, this is a real world review with pictures of things as opposed to charts. I am a part time professional photographer with a lot of real experience. If you don't care to look at the review, here is the conclusion: I like the lens...a lot 8)

Marsu42

Canon Pride.
Feb 7, 2012
Berlin
der-tierfotograf.de
TWI by Dustin Abbott said:
here is the conclusion: I like the lens...a lot 8)

... me, too, and I bought it back when it had a reputation as being an overpriced version of Canon's non-L lens - but it's interesting to see how it gained much more recognition since then. I esp. like the still handholdable weight for ext. periods of time and walking around vs. the 70-200Lii (ymmv).

Just a some random additions to your again very nice review:

* The 70-300L's white paint is just for show, there aren't lens elements that would heat protection like in the 70-200L. One drawback of the extending design is that you cannot camouflage and protect the lens completely with a neoprene hood.

* I really doubt Canon will add f8 af for the 6d and wouldn't advise anyone to gamble on that. On my 60d the Kenko likes to hunt on low contrast objects when using single point af, and for multi-point the 9 af points usually is spread too far apart - so while 6d/5d3 might do fine, on crop it's rather for static objects.