Studio lighting kit

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

Nvision

Hey everyone I need some input. I have an aviation inspired clothing line and want to get better images up on the website. My plan is to do the studio shoot myself with a white background.
My question is what kind of studio lighting should I go for? I've been looking at the interfit cool-lite 5 continuous lighting. I dont need anything Super fancy but spending $400 I want a good deal. Also note I am new to studio shooting. Thats why I tend to shy away from strobe lighting.
Shooting with a 40d and 24-105 lens.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Colby
www.aeronauticclothing.com

Admin US West

CR Pro
Nov 30, 2010
I have a home made light table that I use for my products. I found and bought phillips 98 CRI fluorescent lamps, and three 4-lamp fixtures.

I have four lamps on either side of the table angled toward the rear about 45 degrees, and a 4 lamp fixture accross the top. I have some translucent white fabric that I put over the light fixture, it has a diffuser, but additional diffusion was needed. This works well for my items.

I have a fixed tripod head mounedt at the front of my table where I mount my camera. I use my 24-105mm L on a 5D MK II. I used to do this using my 40D and 17-55mm which was perfect. The 24-105 was not wide enough for me.

Then, my camera is tethered to my pc next to the table, so I can focus, compose, adjust aperture, shutter speed, etc just the way I want and take the photo remotely.

I've used this for about 5 years now. I don't recall the overall cost, but it was about $400 or slightly less.

Upvote 0
G

gene_can_sing

I checked out the interfit and they seem like a good value for the money. I ended up buying Cool Lights which are more expensive for sure.