to buy 7D or wait....

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

canonnovice

I currently have a 20D and was thinking of upgrading to the 7D primarily for the additional resolution and HD video. I'm a relative novice, its a hobby and not a source of income for me. I am wondering if anyone would recommend waiting for the next generation of camera before purchasing (are we late in a "model year" for example)? Its not that there is a missing feature or anything like that (well, except maybe for an easier method of geotagging images vs having to use a second device). Any thoughts?

Current intel is that Canon places the 7D in the low end of the pro-line which would put it on a 3 year update cycle. I would say it's fairly safe to go ahead an get it, you may want to wait a week or so -- there's always the chance of a surprise announcement during the Photokina (I doubt it tho).

It's a great camera, you won't regret it (well, maybe the price ;))

Upvote 0
Jul 21, 2010
canonnovice said:
I currently have a 20D and was thinking of upgrading to the 7D primarily for the additional resolution and HD video. I'm a relative novice, its a hobby and not a source of income for me. I am wondering if anyone would recommend waiting for the next generation of camera before purchasing (are we late in a "model year" for example)? Its not that there is a missing feature or anything like that (well, except maybe for an easier method of geotagging images vs having to use a second device). Any thoughts?

I'd wait until Photokina, since it's next week, just in case - but I don't expect anything similar to come along from Canon. The 7D is an excellent camera, and as Grendel pointed out it's only one year old, which is young for an xD series body. Before we see a 7DII, we'll see a 1DsIV, a 5DIII, and a T3i, at least.