Urgent - canon 1dx mark II. 4k files stutter

Hello
Need some help. Just got the 1dx II. And recorded some 4k clips at 60 fps. To 2 different cfast cards. The sandisk that was provided and a lexar. Play back on multiple pcs and a macbook pro. Even went to the apple store to play on the latest and greatest 5k mac. The video from both cards is terribley stuttery. This is my first time really getting into 4k and i am leaving to go out of the country on friday. Need to figure it out.

Btw also tried downloading vlc to try playback and that didnt help.

Need any help you can provide.
Dustin

dcm

Enjoy the gear you have!
CR Pro
Apr 18, 2013
Colorado, USA
No stutter here. No special software either.

Have you worked with 4K content on your system before? If not you might want to stick with the HD. 4K/60 capture was around 100Mb/sec sustained. You'll need an output path that can match that. While the card might be able to handle it, your system and video cards may not, not to mention a processor fast enough to deal with the software required. It probably isn't a simple bit copy from CFast to screen. HD/120 might also give some systems a run for their money.

Page 319 of the manual has a nice table. I'd work my way up the chart to see what my systems can handle. I definitely wouldn't start with the most demanding situation as an existence proof. (pause) I just tested this out with 20 second clips in each different format and they played well with the QuickTime Player from the bundled SanDisk CFast card connected directly via USB 3.0 to my late 2012 Mac Mini / 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7 (quad) running OS X 10.11.4 with 16Gb of 1600Mhz DDR3 RAm and and Intel HD Graphics 4000 card with 1536Mb of display memory. Played in on my HD monitor, don't have a 4K monitor yet. It also handled a 2.5 minute clip at 4K/60 just fine. YMMV.

If you don't have time to experiment I guess you could always shoot the travel video in 4K and hope to work out the kinks when you get home.

Upvote 0