UWA (to complement 35/100/200)?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just paired my Canon T1i with the new Sigma 35 1.4. I use my flawless 100 2.0 and 200 2.8 for indoor and outdoor sports with massive success.
The 35mm Sigma has similar color and contrast of my 30 1.4, but is sharper so I think I made a good move. So far I have some stunners and use it/plan on using it for everything other than sports - family, travel, landscape, flowers, etc.
Especially in light of our pending big trip to Alaska would an UWA (which I have no experience with) be an important addition? I imagine that might be nice for sweeping landscapes and buildings up close both inside and out (in some cases), but do some do well with nothing but a 35mm (50+ equivalent on a crop)?
Thanks.

I would think you might want something wider than 35mm, and also a TC for wildlife as well to stick on your 200mm. I bet you could find some flickr groups of Alaskan photography and see what lenses people are using. If you're going in the summer, you won't have to worry so much about low light, so you might be able to leave your 35/1.4 at home if you were worried about space.

Upvote 0

shutterwideshut

IR and Long Exposure junkie
Oct 15, 2012
Southeast Asia
tron said:
Menace said:
EFs 10-22 would be very nice if it's with in your budget.

Cheers
+1 I had gotten 10-22 a few years ago to use with my 40D and didn't regret it at all.

Absolutely. If it's within your budget then why not? For a cropped sensor body, the Canon EFS 10-22mm lens is indeed a very nice lens and has been my favorite lens paired with my 7D. For UWA lens comparison purposes, you may check on this link on Sigma, Canon, Tamron and Tokina APS-C Wide-Angle Lenses: http://www.juzaphoto.com/article.php?l=en&article=34

Cheers!

Upvote 0