Videography Techniques....

Mar 21, 2013
I guess, I better start this off... although, I'm no professional, lets just say that I'm a beginner and/or student of video.

Hmmmm.... I guess its exactly like photography techniques....

Most of it is trial and error, with some exceptions.

I mean flash doesn't work with video, you're looking at continuous lighting.

Learn 3 point lighting, but that doesn't mean you have to use 3 point lighting 100% of the time, in fact... I'd be surprised if you're using it 50% of the time. Its the cinematographer's artistic point of view.

dgatwood

300D, 400D, 6D
May 1, 2013
If we're talking in the context of making movies, the cynic in me would be surprised if you used 3-point lighting 5% of the time. :D

I don't do this stuff much anymore, but I did a fair amount of it back in the day. Unless I was in a really tightly controlled environment—that is to say, unless the subject was effectively stationary, like in a basic interview—I usually found myself lighting the scene, not the person, which usually involved bouncing lots of fill lights off of a lot of different white surfaces, did not involve backlights at all unless I was trying for a particular effect, and didn't necessarily even involve key lights. Such even scene lighting maximized camera flexibility, allowing me to move around to get all the different shots I needed without having to relight the scene between angles. (Of course, this occasionally led to too much freedom, which resulted in me swearing at editing time, when I had to rotoscope out a microphone stand a couple of times....)

The biggest pain in the backside, IMO, is when the background itself has to be separately lit. For example, when doing blue/green-screen work, the background must be lit evenly and fairly brightly so that the actors don't cast too much of a shadow. When the background lighting isn't even enough, therein lies the path to madness. :D

Upvote 0
Mar 21, 2013