Waited for the 5DMkIII for so long. But an inbuilt flash is so handy! 7DMkII?

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

foundationboy

I look at my photos and my main usage is wide-angle and at festivals/nights out. The inbuilt flash of my old 30D was so handy and didn't scare people away. I've been waiting for so long for the 5dmkiii and was going to buy a 24mm f1.4 for low light but now I'm thinking a built in flash is just too useful for those time you can't be bothered taking out a 580ex.

Hmmm. Any ideas when the next Canon SLR will come out with inbuilt flash??

Ps, Thank you so much Canon Rumors - I have been checking twice a day for 6 months now for updates. How geeky am i!

Jul 21, 2010
Probably a T4i/650D, fairly soon. Then either a 70D or, more likely a 7DII late this year, or next.

I doubt we will ever see a Canon FF with a popup, or if we do, it will be on a 'consumer/entry level' FF, whenever we see that. Speaking personally, I'm not at all a fan of a popup flash - it's ok as fill light in sunshine, but often not sufficiently powerful for that, and no HSS. The bigger issue for me is that the forward protrusion of a popup flash gets in the way of adjusting my TS-E lens.

Upvote 0
D

dturano

I have a 7d and when i purchased it i was jumping up from a Rebel XT and was torn like you because i felt there may be times i wont have an external and would like the option. Like my XT i find it useless and never use it, I have an external flash on at all times if not off the camera altogether. On my XT I used to have the sigma 24-70mm 2.8 beast of a lens, most high quality lens make the flash unusable due to the lens getting in the way. Plus I find myself using no flash at all and with a great low light lens im confident in most situations.

For personal use I almost never use the flash for part time gigs I mount the 580. After having the 7d for a few years I have no concern getting a camera with no built in flash.