warehouse space for photography in DC/MD/VA?

Aug 11, 2010
so I've recently been asked by a good friend who is in the process of starting a woodworking/furniture studio to take some pictures for his prototypes. these aren't for publication or anything, but he wants some creative shots that he can bring along when he meets potential clients or fabricators.

while we plan on renting some studio space so we can do the standard white-background shots, we also talked about doing something a little more environmental, perhaps in an old factory-looking space if possible. we're both living in the Washington, DC area, and traveling to a nearby city (Baltimore, Richmond, Annapolis) would all be viable options. I know there's tons of good looking warehouses around, but as I'm a hobbyist, I have no idea how you'd go around arranging something like this. I've looked for rental studios that are in warehouses but there's surprisingly little info online (this one seems promising, we'll probably check it out http://www.baltimorephotostudios.com/#!studio-411)

anyone from the MarVa region have any suggestions of locations to shoot? we don't have a specific budget, probably a few hundred bucks at most to rent the location. thanks in advance for any replies!

oh, also, I have my own camera gear (5D Mark II, 24-70 f2.8 L, 70-200 f2.8 L II, 100 f2.8 L Macro) and while I have some speedlites we'll probably rent/buy a flashkit, I'm thinking two heads should be sufficient. any gear/lighting recommendations are also welcome.

RLPhoto

Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
Mar 27, 2012
San Antonio, TX
www.Ramonlperez.com
kubelik said:
so I've recently been asked by a good friend who is in the process of starting a woodworking/furniture studio to take some pictures for his prototypes. these aren't for publication or anything, but he wants some creative shots that he can bring along when he meets potential clients or fabricators.