Wedding shoot with 24-70 f2.8 II and 135 f2.0

Haydn1971

UK based, hobbyist
Nov 7, 2010
Sheffield, UK
www.flickr.com
So I've been asked to shoot a wedding by a friend, I've never done one before, never done any sort of commercial work before, but she's keen for me to shoot her special day based upon the work I post on flickr - I don't have a flash, but do have a Canon 6D, a 24-70mm f2.8 Mk II and a 135mm f2.0 - what pitfalls would I be heading into and what advice would "you" give someone like me before shooting a wedding.

Context here, UK wedding, low budget, likely to be a registry type wedding then a meal and booze up in a pub back room afterwards - not expecting a great venue, mostly just family reportage and a few informal group photos

First: Be very, very clear with your friend what she will get from you, be it free or paid or some of each.

Second: Make a plan for the wedding which you can explain in detail to someone else - the big day is no time for guessing.

Third: Rent another body, one lens on each. That way you have a good chance of having one work all the way through the event, and best-case you save swapping lenses back and forth.

Fourth: Go over the plan, get someone else to look at it, make sure you won't be faced with a question you can't answer.

Jim

Upvote 0
ajfotofilmagem said:
If the wedding was during the day and environment illuminated by large windows, your hardware is sufficient and give very good results. However, if indoors with dim lights (or fluorecentes with ugly color) flash in TTL mode, and diffuser will help immensely.

+1

Maybe take this time to invest in a flash....canon 430ii form$250.....it will make a huge difference if light is poor.

Upvote 0