What should I expect with 7D + 70-200 IS II re: autofocus?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm relatively new to SLRs, starting with the t2i + kit lens several years ago and migrating to the 7D about a year ago. I've loved the 70-200 IS II for the same reasons as everyone.

I love action photography but have found the camera misses autofocus on about half my shots when the subject is rapidly approaching the lens. As an example I was shooting my kid sledding on a bright but overcast day - I had all the AF points enabled, AF Servo, IS mode 2, and High frame rate. Lens wide open - was leading him a bit coming down the hill.

My question is - am I just expecting too much from the AF? Any suggestions for increasing my keeper rate?

SamTheFish

M

MarkoE

Forgive me for not so good english :)

First of all, you should tell us, what was the shutter speed that you had in given conditions.

Next, I am not sure from what direction you were shooting. If your kid was sledding directly towards you, I think you should put IS mode to 1, not 2, so that stabilization could compensate for vertical and horizontal movements. 2 is for panning, so that compensation is not affecting horizantal movement.

Upvote 0
I shoot with a 7D and 70-200 2.8 IS II frequently. It has been a great combo for basketball and football.

There are a few reasons your photos could be blurry, and it's totally normal to end up with a fair amount of blurry photos when shooting action. The key is knowing why they're blurry and having a good amount of focused images to choose from.

I'd imagine that shooting on a bright, sunny day, you can close down your aperture a good deal to f8 or so. This will help eliminate any sort of depth-of-field blurriness as long as the focus is close. I'm usually always at 2.8 indoors or at night, but action at 2.8 is tricky.

I have the AF set to the center point and just leave it at that. I'll use AI servo most of the time, but sometimes I'll switch to manual focus.