What's keeping IS from going beyond 4 stops compensation?

Khalai

In the absence of light, darknoise prevails...
May 13, 2014
Prague
sunnyVan said:
I'm not an engineer and I know little about how IS works. Just curious why the best IS can offer about 4 stops compensation and not more. 4 stops is nice but why can't it improve further?

I'm going on a limb here, but I guess it's because another step means DOUBLING the time. Right now, 4-stops means 16 times longer time than recommended. 5-stops would be 32 times longer. Which is starting to seem a little ridiculous IMHO :)

Upvote 0

nc0b

5DsR
Dec 3, 2013
Colorado
Here is my guess, as I am not a mechanical engineer either. When hand holding a camera and lens, there is small movement jitter. In addition there are larger arm and body movements. It is one thing to try and compensate for the jittery movements, but gyroscopic IS compensating optical group can only compensate for so much for more gross body movements.

Regardless whether we are using an older 2 stop IS lens or a more modern 4 stop IS lens, the amount of camera movement blur will vary from shot to shot. Of course technique will help in all cases. If I can sit down on the ground and cradle my camera and arms against my knees, I am likely to do better than standing upright with no additional steadying support.

Upvote 0
Mar 25, 2011
I'm a Professional engineer, but I do not design lenses. I do know a little about how they work, and as lot about how electronic and mechanical design works.