Which camera should I buy for a first timer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone. This is my first post here. I am a 22 year old student at a college majoring in electronics and communications. Soon as am done with college am moving to a film school to learn about filmmaking. However, right now am educating myself with filmography and video shots by reading books. The only thing left for me is buying a camera. Which camera do you guys recommend me buy for a first timer ? Same thing with accessories. My budget is 1500

Regards,
Salah

I think the first thing you need to say is what currency you're talking about, since this is an international forum. So do you have 1500 Euros, Pound sterling, USD, HKD, RMB or something entirely different.

Since you're a first-timer, and going to film school soon, I would look to buy some second hand equipment.

There are a couple of assumptions behind this: first, that the film school has equipment for classes), and secondly, that you probably won't have much time (or much desire) to go filming on your own outside of class.

At least that would match my brother's experience when he went to photojournalism school.

Upvote 0
From my limited experience, since you're going for film-making, I'd recommend a second-hand 5D2 + 24-105L lens (or some other manual lens for film-making) or a 70D + 18-135 IS STM lens. 5D2, if you really want to go hardcore fast since image will be a lot better though you'll have to do everything in manual (you can learn and use ML to make your life a little bit easier) while 70D will give you AF. You can also read on some more in http://www.eoshd.com/. They can give you more insights on film-making and its rudiments.

Upvote 0