Why isn't there a magic wand in Lightroom?

May 31, 2011
I've been using the magic wand in photoshop since 1998... so it isn't exactly cutting edge technology. I want to select a background... darken it... and leave my subject untouched...

I suppose I can guess the answer... it is because I should be using photoshop since they work best in tandem... but seriously... a magic wand... it seems silly to not have that stand alone functionality in LR.

Having said that... if it is there... and I'm merely ignorant... I will withdraw my outrage.

As mentioned, use the adjustment brush.

One partial answer to why LR does not have a magic wand is: Lightroom is specifically focused on PIE (parametric image editing) while Photoshop is specifically focused on RIE (raster image editing). They each do their own part best, and it doesn't make sense for Adobe to start mixing in the PS stuff into LR too much (although they are doing it more and more lately). The adjustment brush creates far better, more accurate masks/selections than a wand tool would, despite it taking longer and being a pain in the neck.

After the basic parametric edits in LR on my RAW, I move to PS for anything regarding selections or raster stuff.

Upvote 0

Marsu42

Canon Pride.
Feb 7, 2012
Berlin
der-tierfotograf.de
flyingSquirrel said:
The adjustment brush creates far better, more accurate masks/selections than a wand tool would, despite it taking longer and being a pain in the neck.

I agree, and we can look forward to LR6 here: In ACR 8.7 for PS CC Adobe already enabled the advanced mask editing tools so it'll be easier to edit selections. They could of course also have enabled it in LR5, but then again there has to be some reason to pay some $$$ to upgrade for the non-subscription users :-o

Upvote 0

Marsu42

Canon Pride.
Feb 7, 2012
Berlin
der-tierfotograf.de
Skirball said:
Probably not a big deal for a sidecar, but that'd mean that the catalogs will increase dramatically as well.