Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Park

Jan 1, 2014
Hi,
I have been a long time visitor and decided to join. This is such a great site, have learnt a lot and enjoyed your photographs immensely. I could do with some advice. I will be traveling to Yellowstone and Grand Tetons in the spring-summer time frame and could do with some some advice on points of interest and good photographic points. I have been shooting for a few years purely for personal enjoyment. I think I have improved my technique slowly but my ignorance is vast. I currently shoot with
Canon 5D MKIII, 24-70 F/2.8 L, EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS II and EF 50mm F 1.8.
Filters: B&W KSM circular polarizer and the Singh Ray Vari ND filter.
Tripod: Manfrotto carbon fiber with Kirk BH3 ballhead and a Kirk L bracket
Remote release: Vello

Currently my main areas of interest are landscape, portraits and available light photography.
My questions are three fold:
1) Points of interest in the park where it offers interesting opportunities for photography.
2) Planning to be in Yellowstone for 3 days and Grand Tetons for 2. Is that fine or would you recommend switching the time a bit?
3) Though I feel I have enough equipment, this is a dream trip which I have been thinking of doing for years but have been unable to so I want to maximize my time there. Do I need any wider lenses? Any other filters? I have toyed with the idea of Lee filters but haven't made the jump yet.
Thanks a lot.
Ray

surapon

80% BY HEART, 15% BY LENSES AND ONLY 5% BY CAMERA
Aug 2, 2013
APEX, NORTH CAROLINA, USA.
ray5 said:
Hi,