14-bit and 13-bit A/D Conversion with H+ and H-speed

candyman

R6, R8, M6 II, M5
Sep 27, 2011
www.flickr.com
For my photography I use the Canon EOS R6. Among other things, to photograph birds from a bird hut. A situation with varying contrasts and speeds of the birds. So I regularly adjust the settings of my camera to get the best possible results (hard work )

On The Digital Picture I read the review of the Canon EOS R6. Digital Picture reports: “Note that RAW and C-RAW have 14-bit A/D conversion with mechanical and electronic 1st curtain shutter, 13-bit with H+ mode, and 12-bit A/D conversion with the full electronic shutter."

Then I searched the internet for more information about A/D conversion. I came across this article: ADC and Resolution

I have no technical knowledge and cannot judge whether this article gives me the correct explanation.
Is it true that the bit conversion has an impact on the dynamic range?
If so, what is the practical difference when I shoot at H+ (13-bit A/D C) and H (14-bit A/D C) in conditions where my shutter speed is between 1/320 and 1/2000 with auto ISO between 640 and 12800?
Is the impact on noise negligible? Or does it have an impact? For example with light cropping?

What do I notice between 14-bit and 13-bit for the quality of the photo?
I feel like only using H instead of H+ to preserve the maximum of quality for the photo. BTW when taking photos from a bird hut I use mechanical shutter (usually behind special glass window)

Maybe someone can give me some more information/explanation. I really appreciate that.
Thank you.

Last edited:

candyman

R6, R8, M6 II, M5
Sep 27, 2011
www.flickr.com
Thank you for your reply Sharlin.

"At ISO 100 to 400 you may notice a bit less latitude to recover highlights or push shadows (more noise in the shadows) when shooting with the e-shutter compared to mech/1st curtain electronic."