24 f1.4L II or 16-35 f2.8L II

Status
Not open for further replies.

Admin US West

CR Pro
Nov 30, 2010
waksfly said:
I dont know which one to get because both are excellent lenses. Anyway i'll be using it for portraits(environmental, loose crop or anything that will add variations to my telephoto lens) on a 7D(waiting for the 5D II ;)) Basically i'm into portraits and landscapes. Thanks and please reply as i am still new to photography! :)

I would not get either for a 7D, a 17-55mm EF-s would be a easy choice. However, you indicate that you are getting a 5D MK II, which also means lens focal lengths will be 1.6 times longer to get an equivalent field of view.

For a 7D, a typical portrait focal length might run from 55mm to 85mm, with 100mm being fine as well. With a 5D, traditional focal lengths would run from 85mm to 135mm or even 200mm.

Longer focal lengths tend to flatter faces, while shorter focal lengths tend to exagerate facial features, noses look longer and larger, for example.

The common focal length here is 85mm, so that would be a good place to start for portraits.

You do not need ultra wide lenses for landscapes, some use telephoto lenses. I'd stay with 17 - 50mm on a 7D, and 24-85mm on FF. the 24mm L or a 35mm L would be a great choice for either 7D or 5D MK II.

Upvote 0