600 EX-RT Evaluative vs Average E-TTL

pwp

Oct 25, 2010
I rarely get what I'd call good exposures with my 600 EX-RT speedlights. It's generally underexposure. Maybe it's a settings thing. Evaluative vs Average E-TTL? Who uses which, and why?

At indoor events my default EC +2/3 stop, high iso 800-1600 and largish aperture f/3.5-f/5, 5D MkIII & 7D MkII, bounce if there are low white ceilings or on-flash mods like Joe Demb, or less often Gary Fong or Stofen

It's annoying.

Thanks!

-pw

I gave up on trying to get consistent results from ETTL a long time ago. Maybe I'm just a flash noob that was never able to figure it out, but generally, if I need to use flash, I'll expose to get the background at however dark I want it, and take my best guess at how many stop brighter the foreground needs to be and try to pick a decent manual power option. Two, three, or four chimps later I'll settle on the right settings.

Upvote 0

Jack Douglas

CR for the Humour
Apr 10, 2013
Alberta, Canada
I've recently invested in a second 600EX-RT primarily for fill flash shooting birds with the 6D from a blind. I also don't feel confident with the ETTL results and have been playing around with manual settings. Just when I've run through all the various menus and think I understand it all, a week or two goes buy and I'm not so sure again. In other words I have little to offer but am hoping this thread gets some discussion going. ;)

I have not found a way to eliminate the pre-flash that frightens the little birds just prior to the actual flash. Also when I do a manual verification of dual flash firing there is a noticeable delay in the off-camera flash, which doesn't seem to happen in actual shooting but it's made me wonder what's happening.

Jack

Upvote 0

StudentOfLight

I'm on a life-long journey of self-discovery
Nov 2, 2013
Cape Town