Added ads and more added adds, what gives?

Viggo

EOS R5
Dec 13, 2010
Hi all!

Recently it was added loads of new ways to display ads here on CR. I’m not a Pro member and have long ago accepted ads on the site, I get why they’re there.

I’m fine with ads between posts in the forum, I can live with the full page ad when going from one thread to another. I really dislike the lower banner being in the way and shrinking my screen real estate, but I live with it.

But, now there is a banner on top blocking the menu, much more intensive and intrusive adds effectively blocking me from using the site like intended.

So I changed my browser to Safari and downloaded an adblocker and it was superb, until the site warns me and tries to make me disable the adblocker!

So the free site isn’t free anymore, might as well have it behind a paywall when it can’t be used with the insane amount of content covering ads.

how does other people feel?

CanonFanBoy

Purple
CR Pro
Jan 28, 2015
Irving, Texas
Hi all!

Recently it was added loads of new ways to display ads here on CR. I’m not a Pro member and have long ago accepted ads on the site, I get why they’re there.

I’m fine with ads between posts in the forum, I can live with the full page ad when going from one thread to another. I really dislike the lower banner being in the way and shrinking my screen real estate, but I live with it.

But, now there is a banner on top blocking the menu, much more intensive and intrusive adds effectively blocking me from using the site like intended.

So I changed my browser to Safari and downloaded an adblocker and it was superb, until the site warns me and tries to make me disable the adblocker!

So the free site isn’t free anymore, might as well have it behind a paywall when it can’t be used with the insane amount of content covering ads.

how does other people feel?