AF question - 5D v. Rebel XS

Status
Not open for further replies.
First post.

OK, I already have an idea of what the answer I'm going to get is, but...

I currently have a Rebel XS, which I use in my job as a reporter. I am primarily a writer, and since I work for a small-town weekly, super high-quality photos are not critical. But I use it for (small town) sports on a fairly regular basis and I'm mostly content with the shots I get.

But, I'm looking to upgrade to a FF, and considering I know I don't need something as sophisticated as the 1D, that means the 5D in one of its iterations.

So, given what all your experiences are with the 5D AF, and how I've heard it's not great for sports, my question is this:
How much better is the 5D AF compared to the Rebel XS? And given that the XS has served me well for shooting sports, how happy would I be with the 5D even with its AF "problems"?

Thanks.

Jul 21, 2010
You might notice a slight AF performance boost with the 5D for moving subjects. With static subjects and the center AF point, there will also be some improvement.

Other improvements will be IQ (big bump), the viewfinder will be much nicer, and better ergonomics.

Might I ask - why FF? Do you have EF-S lenses you'd need to sell? If your primary need is high ISO, the 5DII is hard to beat. But...if you're shooting mostly in decent light, have you considered the 7D?

Upvote 0
Might I ask - why FF? Do you have EF-S lenses you'd need to sell? If your primary need is high ISO, the 5DII is hard to beat. But...if you're shooting mostly in decent light, have you considered the 7D?

+1 on that.