Auto focus for Macro

Del Paso

M3 Singlestroke
CR Pro
Aug 9, 2018
I have no experience with Macro photography other than YouTube. I hear "never use auto focus" a lot. However the R5 is incredible at AF so does the old never AF for macro still apply?
"Never" is always wrong. AF can obviously also be used for macro. Nothing is forbidden, and, after all, excellent macros were shot long before AF even existed.
It depends on so many aspects, like size of the motive, wind, soil wet or not, motive 3 dimensional or flat etc...
Do not let the "others" decide, rely on your own experiences which you'll rather quickly acquire. I often use AF for macros, but must say I hate tripods... And , some days, exclusively manual focus.
Honestly, I let the "situation" decide whether to use AF or not.
Wish you much fun !

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0

Del Paso

M3 Singlestroke
CR Pro
Aug 9, 2018
I have no experience with Macro photography other than YouTube. I hear "never use auto focus" a lot. However the R5 is incredible at AF so does the old never AF for macro still apply?
I just took a look at your :love:bird pictures.
Im even more convinced that you'll excell at macro very soon...:)

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0

joseph ferraro

5DM4/R5 Macro
Apr 16, 2020