Battery Life and heat issue shooting stills.

davidhfe

CR Pro
Sep 9, 2015
I've been wondering same. My sport shooting is often 8+ hours and 4000-6000 clicks. With R5, I might add occasional video too. At this point I'm hoping/guessing about 2h/1000 clicks per battery, meaning I need to carry minimum 4 batteries. Maybe survive with 3 (or 2 if desperate) if there's place to charge others while shooting.

My 5D4 with the 100-400 and heavy IS use typically eats 2-3 batteries during a day of shooting sports. I'm expecting to wind up needing double that, though I should be clear I'm an amateur. I think the grip will be a required accessory for sports and wildlife.

Edit: On the overheating side, even when it says 0min of 4K HQ you can still take pictures. Would like to see some comments on if the FPS drops in that case.

Upvote 0
Nov 1, 2012
My 5D4 with the 100-400 and heavy IS use typically eats 2-3 batteries during a day of shooting sports. I'm expecting to wind up needing double that, though I should be clear I'm an amateur. I think the grip will be a required accessory for sports and wildlife.

My experience with 5D4 and 70-200 w/ IS is that the 8h/5000clicks is doable (I have grip and 2 batteries), although towards the end it'll be quite low. I try to charge a bit during some of the breaks to help. 1DX with 70-200 IS has no trouble making that with single (bigger) battery, although I carry second one just in case. Can't miss those final matches due to battery.

For R5 I'll get grip for sure, question is how many extra batteries beyond the first 2. Good combo would be total 4, so the first two should last first 4 hours, and then finish with the other set. If they seem to be on the edge, make sure to charge the first set while shooting with second, so there's chance to swap again if needed.