Canon 60D v. Nikon D7000

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

paeataa

I'm totally new to DSLRs and deciding between Canon 60D and Nikon D7000. Either of those will be my first DSLR -- a huge jump from Canon IS S3 series. Though I really love my Canon IS S3, it's time to upgrade and seriously learn to take great photos.

I love the articulated screen of Canon 60D, but it seems D7000 has a lot more to offer. And it seems there is a big disappointment among Canon lovers on the 60D. I can't decide which one would be better for my $1500 budget (camera + lens(es)).

Could you guys tell me the pros and cons of these two models?

Thanks!

paeataa said:
I'm totally new to DSLRs and deciding between Canon 60D and Nikon D7000. Either of those will be my first DSLR -- a huge jump from Canon IS S3 series. Though I really love my Canon IS S3, it's time to upgrade and seriously learn to take great photos.

I love the articulated screen of Canon 60D, but it seems D7000 has a lot more to offer. And it seems there is a big disappointment among Canon lovers on the 60D. I can't decide which one would be better for my $1500 budget (camera + lens(es)).

Thanks!

The answer is in your question. 60D has almost nothing to compete against D7000, if we believe the specs of D7000 are true. Given that the ESP of D7000 is just $100 higher than of 60D, I wouldn't think for a second.
However we should wait until D7000 is officially announced.

Upvote 0
Jan said:
First of all you should wait until the D7000 is officially announced.

Second, I personally would wait until both DSLRs are widely available to see at which price they will fit into the current market...