Copyright question as an employee (not staff photographer)

Jul 28, 2015
Refurb7 said:
Work done as an employee is the employer's. The situation can get complicated, but this one doesn't sound complicated.

But how does that affect copyright (which was the original question)?
As I understand it in US, if an employee develops a patentable product developed while in employment the patent sometimes rests with the employee, sometimes not depending on terms of contract and what the employee's primary role in the company is. I can see the same thing here.

Without knowing the details of this particular case, the company can ask 'we want a picture that shows we are a happy bunch to work with so please design and shoot a photo session' or they could ask 'can you take a picture of this bunch of people to show what a wonderful group we are'. They are different levels of input that could swing it either way.

Upvote 0
Like the others here, I am not a lawyer nor do I represent the OP.