D800/E pre-order thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, I am a Canon fanboy. I shoot with a 7D and all my glass (not much) is Canon:

• Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II
  • Canon EF 50mm f/1.4
  • Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS
  • Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS

I've been looking forward to shoot FF for a while now, and was just waiting for the 5DMKIII to come out. The bulk of my shooting is large prints of my HDR work (not huge, just 13x19). But bringing my 16-35mm to the MKIII will show its flaws. I am also a filmmaker and uncompressed video is a very tempting feature from the D800.

I am not going to sale all my glass, since I love my Canon glass and bodies last around 6 years or so. But glass could last 20 years or more (if well cared). I follow this forum and read the opinions about both cameras.

I know I can use the Nikkor 14-24 on a Canon body, but being able to autofocus with a Nikon one is definitely a plus. This lens is also arguably the best ultra wide (and also wide?) out there today. I have never used a DSLR by Nikon, and this is a great opportunity to learn. It's a benefit to know how to use the systems of both leaders in the DSLR world.

And this is why I am pre-ordering a D800E and the 14-24. I will give it a shot. I am not actually 'switching', I am just going to FF for the first time with a Nikon body for the reasons mentioned above.

IF you are pre-ordering or if you already did, it will be very interesting for me to know why you made that choice.

I appreciate the input in advance... ;)

Thanks guys!!

Ben

S

SomeGuyInNewJersey

takoman46 said:
I'm curious as to how the 5DmkIII will show the flaws of the 16-35?

I'm guessing he means the fact the 16-35 is very sharp in the middle so looks great on his crop body whereas the sharpness out at the edges isn't so great and the full frame will actually show this whereas his crop does not.