Help with 8mm video copying

Jack Douglas

CR for the Humour
Apr 10, 2013
Alberta, Canada
I have finally dug out my old Sony 8mm camcorder and a bunch of tapes of Peru and Machu Pichu done in 1988. They haven't been played in 30 years and seem to be decent for the time and my two youngest are in the footage as well as other family so now I'd really like to get them in digital form (without spending too much at least until I've assessed exactly what is actually worthy).

So, can it work for me to just set my R5 on a tripod in front of the 4K TV and record in HD? If so are there any things to try to do that would be helpfull? I wondered if I recorded in 1080/60 if that would improve the hand held shakiness aspect somewhat.

Joules

doom
CR Pro
Jul 16, 2017
Hamburg, Germany
So, I have no experience working with 8 mm whatsoever due to my age. But I have digitized a few VHS tapes, some of which had footage on them that came from a 8mm camcorder.

Is that also what you are doing? If so, what's the output that you are using to get the footage to display on the TV? Have you considered buying a capture device that can directly grabs that signal and turns it into a digital one, like your TV is doing, and recording that on a PC? Depending on the format of your output, this isn't particularly expensive. This is what I have done, although the quality of my tapes is really quite poor by modern standards so I'm not giving up much by using a cheap converter.

As for filming the TV, watch out for aliasing of course, but old tapes don't have enough detail anyway, so slightly defocusing the lens does the trick.

I think tuning the TV and camera picture profiles so that you get a decent white balance and no clipping could take some experimentation.