Maternity shoot

shot a couple of months ago - all in studio with a mixture of profoto strobes, speedlights and gels.

please critique and comment.

welcome to visit my page - http://www.johnmckayphotography.com

Attachments

• IMG_1429 2.jpg
    IMG_1429 2.jpg
    220.5 KB · Views: 1,256
  • IMG_1305 2.jpg
    IMG_1305 2.jpg
    203.1 KB · Views: 1,082
  • IMG_1389 2.jpg
    IMG_1389 2.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 1,139
Each of the three have strong and weak points. They are sufficiently crafted and moody enough I believe the subject will not focus on deficiencies.

Overall, with these and others photos you've shown, my overriding impression is that you're trying too hard. I think the work would be better with somewhat less intensity.

And as a disclaimer, that's just my opinion. I'm no artist, and I'm only an adequate photographer.

Upvote 0
Thank you for NOT photo-shopping an ultrasound picture of the baby onto the woman's belly. Thank you.

But since you asked for opinions, I will start with questions for you, the photographer.

When setting up these shots, what story were you intending to tell?
What aspects of this pregnant woman did you want to depict in the photograph/
- Were you trying to capture the introspective feeling of the woman carrying a life-form?
- Were you trying to capture the sensuousness of a pregnant woman?
- Were you trying to capture the evolving beauty of a pregnant woman?
- Do you just like taking pictures of pregnant woman's tits? :p

It was unclear from looking at these pictures, what exactly you were after.

The first shot is, in my opinion, the best. Are you happy with the lighting effect? If the picture turned out the way you wanted it to turn out, then it is a good picture for you. The pose was nice and the woman's expression was pleasant. The backlighting of the dress worked out better than the backlighting of her head.

Interesting use of gels in the second picture. What were you trying to do and were you successful?