Minnesota kid looking for a photographer mentor

Alright I don't really know how to go about this but I'm going to give it a try. First of all I'm not really a kid I'm 27 and I live in Minnesota. I really love photography and cameras(starting to collect ;D)and I want to get into it more. Basically what I'm looking for is how possible it is for someone in my situation to shadow or be mentored by a professional photographer? Does something like this exist? Photography started when I found a camera in a rental car when I 18 and detailing the cars. The person never came back for the camera so I adopted it. It was an Olympus 2mp point and shoot. That's where it all began and now I've been photographing real things but not many. I did one wedding and some portrait stuff for a few people. I really enjoyed doing both. I now have another wedding coming up in september so this prompted me to see if I can learn more about this craft. I am by no means a professional and I don't know if I will be but I sure like photography more than the car buisness. I just would love a chance to learn more by spending time with a professional or something like that. I practice different things that I see on the Internet and read a lot but I'm much more hands on and visual learner. That's my silly little rant I just want to learn more and become better. Im really enjoying this canon rumors site. Thanks!!

@MinnesotaNice yes I live in Dayton which if most aren't familiar I'm 10 minutes or less(no traffic) from maple grove. I've always been doing grunt work and or working for little to nothing but I've gotten pretty far in life doing so. I just want to learn a lot more on top of what I know to gain more confidence about shooting, because I love it so much! And I am thankful I have a close friend that loves photography as much as me if not more but she's usually been busy with work and life so I've been missing out.

Upvote 0

thepancakeman

If at first you don't succeed, don't try skydiving