Particular genre vs everything

As a beginner I must ask this question.

Should I become a particular photographer or not ?

I searched photography genres and turns out I like the following:-

Astrophotography, underwater , black & white, landscape & nature.

Should I be particular in those genres or should I also learn about portraits, macro, color, etc....

Plus, is underwater photography 180 degrees different than normal photography ?
I like scuba diving and I also like photography although I'm a beginner in both.

slclick

EOS 3
Dec 17, 2013
It's what I call a good problem. Now some of us are fortunate to live in certain locales, travel for work or pleasure or have access to gear and places which lend themselves to opportunities for great photographic moments.

So similar to starting out with one lens and working it with all parameters possible, you do the same in your little slice of the world. That might dictate landscapes, nature, street, ....whatnot. Please by all means, explore all genres and you may find you have a knack for something you did not realize you had. Now, budget constraints sometimes tie our hands on shooting certain subjects...i.e. big teles for wildlife and BIF, travel budget and time off etc etc.

We can all shoot macro with the addition of just one lens. Easy. Natural and available light portraiture is there for anyone with almost any gear. Astro takes particular gear and locales for available and coma free stars. Underwater speaks for itself. Black and white is free since you're not shooting film, but maybe you should if you truly want a handle on contrast and tonal parameters.

I've had periods where I shoot everything and those where I shoot only my passions. What it did after a period of years is to distill and hone all my experiences into a more select group of favorite genres and styles. It also turned me into a buy and sell lens geek. Zoom vs primes...a combination of both, rinse and repeat.