Portrait of my nan, help!

Hey guys,

I know this is a bit cheesy but I have a huge family and we all love our nan so much. I want to get an amazing portrait of her sometime soon. Shes getting pretty old and I really want to capture what an amazing person she is. This is my first go with almost zero post processing.Hopefully I will have many more opportunities to re shoot, but what could I do better? Im going to her 87th bday party in 2 weeks :) Composition, posing, post processing our all things im thinking of. Im thinking i need a nicer back drop?

Attachments

• nana.jpg
    nana.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 1,654
E

Enrico

I am not a portrait expert, but I would like to add a few ideas that might be worth considering.

Of course you should go for the head and shoulder portrait and as nightbreath said - consider light and composition. Perhaps use existing light from a window etc.

I would also take photos from a distance when she is doing those things that come to your mind when you think of her. Perhaps serving the birthday cake, laughing when taking part in a discussion giving some grandchildren a hug etc.

When I look back at photos from previous generations and even pictures of my grandparents (that would have been around 87 if they still were alive) they all are kind of arranged. IE "normal" portrait style. Nothing wrong with that, but as the years go by my memories of them (and expecially those I never met) are that portrait photo... It would have been much better if the person was captured in a situation typically for him/her.

There are some photos of my granddad, holding me as a kid, dressed up for a portrait etc. But the one I appriciate the most is when someone captured him (without him knowing) when he is fishing. He is in that moment and you can really notice the difference in his face, eyes etc. In terms of lightning, composition, sharpness etc etc the photo is crap... but that doesn't matter.