Rally racing tips

Hi all!
This is only my second post here,so here it goes!
A friend of mine asked me to come put to one of his rally car races in colorado and shoot him and the other racers next month. As this is my first time shooting something like this(I normally shoot wildlife and landscapes) I need some help from everyone on CR. First. Do I typically need a press pass for something like this?
And second what gear recommendations do you have for me? I'll be shooting with a 7d and 50d a 70-200 on the 7d and the Sigma 50mm on the 50d. Any suggestions are most welcome!
Thanks everyone!

Valvebounce

CR Pro
Apr 3, 2013
Isle of Wight
Hi Mharwood.
If you must stand on the outside of a turn, keep both eyes open, one through the viewfinder, the other on the lookout for the car that is not going to go round the turn and be ready to run! Be aware that on a gravel stage there can be some very large stones launched at you and your gear.
Also I recall an interview with a driver about people on the road, his reply was something along the lines of I see trees standing in the road, if I saw people I would have to slow down!
Be safe, no photo is worth you getting hurt or worse! Have fun.

Cheers Graham.

Mharwood16 said:
Hi all!
This is only my second post here,so here it goes!
A friend of mine asked me to come put to one of his rally car races in colorado and shoot him and the other racers next month. As this is my first time shooting something like this(I normally shoot wildlife and landscapes) I need some help from everyone on CR. First. Do I typically need a press pass for something like this?
And second what gear recommendations do you have for me? I'll be shooting with a 7d and 50d a 70-200 on the 7d and the Sigma 50mm on the 50d. Any suggestions are most welcome!
Thanks everyone!

Upvote 0

Roo

CR Pro
Sep 12, 2013
Melbourne