These half-baked "quick thoughts" reviews…

davidhfe

CR Pro
Sep 9, 2015
… are really getting on my nerves. I'm not asking for folks to have full reviews, but really basic stuff is being omitted. Ragging bit on the Northrups here but they are by no means the only ones:

- "I couldn't recover this highlight." OK, was that RAW, HEIF or JPG? If it was RAW... how did you process it? I haven't seen any reviewer with access to raw conversion tools yet. Does the R5 have highlight priority? Was it on?
- "I had trouble tracking a bird once I started shooting" That's really important to know. But can she regularly do that with an OVF? How does it compare to other mirrorless Z7/A9/XT4? What drive mode? Fro was doing some great indoor sports shooting with the 1DX3 in live view—why would the R6 be different?
- "Battery only lasted an hour" while driving a 500mm lens with a 2x extender, presumably with IS on. How many shots? How does that compare to a 5D4? A7 series? I've found even a 100-400 will chew up batteries on my 5D4 with heavy IS, and it starts to slow down with drained batteries.

Not asking for super controlled/detailed reviews at this point, but adding in those pieces of context would take like 20 seconds of script time. Really don't want this to be a dig at Tony/Chelsea who are doing solid work actually getting the camera into the field—just wish they'd provide some basic contextual information.

Reactions: 11 users

LSXPhotog

Automotive, Commercial, & Motorsports
CR Pro
Apr 2, 2015
Tampa, FL
www.diossiphotography.com
This is what I will say about the Northrups and why I will never trust them again - just like Max Yuryev (extremely biased review on video of the EOS R that was quickly proven wrong and was never taken down...because click?).