Tips for using CPL

I'm new to CPL. Bought a decent one (b+w xs-pro 82mm) and tried it the other day. I rotated the front such that my foreground appeared more saturated with less glare. What I noticed was that the sky was partially/unevenly darkened. I was not using an ultrawide lens. I was at 24mm. The sun was more or less over my right shoulder, 90 degrees to my camera axis. How can I saturate the sky more evenly? I'm sure it's a matter of technique and not a fault of my CPL, and I'm hoping someone could shed some light. Thanks for your help.

Dec 13, 2010
It actually has to be a quite narrow focal to get full and even effect. What can help matters is to not turn the filter to the maximum effect, but more subtle.

And sometimes I polarize more on one side to avoid the big dark blimp in the middle of the blue sky. But often make a compromise between FL and the amount of pol applied.

It's REALLY nice with the 200mm as it is completely even. But my 2470 I follow the steps above.

Upvote 0
Viggo said:
It actually has to be a quite narrow focal to get full and even effect. What can help matters is to not turn the filter to the maximum effect, but more subtle.

And sometimes I polarize more on one side to avoid the big dark blimp in the middle of the blue sky. But often make a compromise between FL and the amount of pol applied.

It's REALLY nice with the 200mm as it is completely even. But my 2470 I follow the steps above.

Ic. Thx, Viggo.

Upvote 0
That's one of the ironies of CPLs. An otherwise beautiful, wide-angle scene in which you'd love to have a bit better sky and it gets fouled because of the CPL, not enhanced. I know someone who is expert in using the CPL in wide-angle scenes, but I'll darned if I can duplicate what she does with it. 50mm and longer and I don't have much problem or if I limit the sky to one quarter or less of the image.

Upvote 0
flowers said: