Torn on low light sports lens 85/135 RF

KKCFamilyman

Capturing moments in time...
CR Pro
Mar 17, 2012
Orlando
www.allofamily.net
Hey everyone,

I am torn on either the rf85 1.2 or rf135 1.8 for my kids track meets to keep the iso down. Also my sons water polo games. Of course portraits of the kids too. I am curious if anyone has a recommendation. I own the 70-200 2.8 and that is just not enough light on some of these night meets. I am not a pro but will invest if the glass is worth it.

Del Paso

M3 Singlestroke
CR Pro
Aug 9, 2018
I've used both for indoor basketball games, and my vote is for the 135. I know it's a bit slower, aperture-wise, but the AF is significantly faster than the 85.
+1
Reason? Just the fact that I'm using the 135 (compared to the 85mm) 90% of the time. For me, 85mm is a bit too short...but that's a purely subjective opinion. In the end, nobody else can choose for you. ;) Base your decision on which focal you'd be choosing in a "typical" situation if you had both lenses.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

KKCFamilyman

Capturing moments in time...
CR Pro
Mar 17, 2012
Orlando
www.allofamily.net
I’m not sure you will see any net gain. You gain about a stop in light, but you need to crop more to get the same framing.

Of course that assumes you are shooting the 70-200 at 200 most of the time.
I just need something in the 85-150mm range but f2 or better. The iso is 40k in my shots so if I can cut that in half that is the goal.

Upvote 0

unfocused

Photos/Photo Book Reviews: www.thecuriouseye.com
Jul 20, 2010
Springfield, IL
www.thecuriouseye.com
I just need something in the 85-150mm range but f2 or better. The iso is 40k in my shots so if I can cut that in half that is the goal.
Sounds like the 135 is the way to go then, if you can get your hands on one.

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0
Dec 13, 2010
A $2600 lens with slow autofocus ?
That's crazy !

Of course, slow is relative, but still...