What makes a good arca-swiss tripod clamp

I am thinking of buying a arca-swiss compatible clamp to mount onto my Manfrotto head that uses the rc2 plates. I realize buying a new head would likely be the preferable choice but I am not a professional and am looking to save a bit here. This will bring me into the arca-swiss world which seems to be the standard and allow me to get a nice L plate. I notice there are different types of arca-swiss compatible clamps: short screw knobs, long screw knobs, leavers, both, not to mention levels and graduations and sizes/shapes. What would you be looking for?

I changed the plate of my Gitzo tripod and head (traveler series) with this plate compatible Arca-Swiss: Gitzo GS3760D (http://www.gitzo.com/product/0/GS3760D/_/Quick_Release_Adapter_Series_3_Magnesium_D_Profile)
There are 3 screws to unmount the existing plate and place this one.
I don't know if Manfroto have the same way to fix the plate but it's quite a low cost solution to go to Arca-Swiss.

Upvote 0
Jul 21, 2010
First, is the clamp replaceable? It is on some Manfrotto heads, not on others.

For a tripod clamp, I prefer a lever over a screw knob for faster loading/unloading. Full gradations aren't really needed, but a center mark is very useful (better body/L-plates will also have one). If your camera has an electronic level, that will be more accurate than the bubble level on the clamp, so for me a level on the clamp is dispensable.

The other important consideration is getting a clamp with a threaded socket that matches the stud (diameter and thread pitch) on the head.

Upvote 0
Neuro,
It is nice to see someone makes a full solution. I was originally looking for something of the sort, now that I have seen the other options and heard your comments about leaver releases the Kirk one does not seem to be the most economical or even the best. I am leaning towards something like the following: